[Review] Origins Out of Trouble 10 Minutes Rescue Mask

I had tons of acne troubles during my teenage years and early twenties. Acne kept growing like 3-5 fresh ones every single day.  My entire face is covered with redness, old scars, bumps and acne pus. Any new space for them to grow it will grow (T.T)

My condition is better now, I have less acne outbreaks and using moisturizing instead of oil control sjkin care products. I find that daily masking with sheet masks keeps my skin moist, inadvertently improves acne outbreaks!

 Anyhow, I bought this rescue mask from Sephora 2 years ago, used it a few times and chucked it in a corner. The ingredients irritated my skin condition although it is best recommended for acne and oily skin. 

Origins Out of Trouble 10 Minutes Rescue Mask

Origins Out of Trouble Rescue mask (100ml/3.4fl oz)

This mask claims to refine rough texture and pull out the plug on skin troublemakers. When skin problems start to emerge, Origin’s 10 minutes Out of Trouble mask will calm skin down.

Zinc Oxide and Sulfur absorbs oil, Camphor purifies skin, Salicylic Acid sloughs off dead skin cells and sweep off irksome debris. Thus, keeping skin clear and trouble free.

Origins Out of Trouble 10 Minutes Rescue Mask

Main ingredients: Sulfur (anti-bacterial properties) & Camphor (aromatic herb for skin purifying)

Full Ingredients: Water, Cetyl Esters, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Peg-100 Stearate, Camphor, Ceteareth-20, Salicylic Acid, Colloidal Sulfur, Butylene Glycol, Bentonite, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol.

Origins Out of Trouble 10 Minutes Rescue Mask

Strong herb smell that is bearable. 

Origins Out of Trouble 10 Minutes Rescue Mask

Mask texture

IMG20160629205803

Need to wash off using damp cloth or sponge. Else, will take a long time to remove by hands.

Unfortunately, the Sulfur ingredient worsened my acne and skin condition. I do not feel any dryness after rinsing, but new acne were forming, redness appearing all over my face,  and existing acne became larger.

Initially I thought it was the skin detox effect to purge out all dirt and toxin. I’ve read numerous reviews where this masks became the holy grail of acne troubles. This Out of Trouble mask is also one of Origin’s top sellers. 

I decided to investigate more as I was hoping this product will be a  miracle to my acne 😥 I came across paulaschoice.com  and learned more about the ingredients.

Apparently, sulfur causes irritation to skin although they have antibacterial properties. Other more effective ingredients to reduce breakout and redness would be Salicylic Acid, Benzoyl Peroxide and Niacinamide. They do not irritate skin like sulfur. Also, Camphor can dilate blood vessels when used in long term. This will cause inflammation and worsen breakouts.

You can read more about the pros and cons, and  how these ingredient work with one’s skin. They have pretty useful and easy to understand information that can help us make better decisions in choosing skin care products.

Link: http://www.paulaschoice.com/beautypedia-skin-care-reviews/by-brand/origins/_/Out-of-Trouble-10-Minute-Mask-to-Rescue-Problem-Skin

