[Review] Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

I’m switching from collagen drinks to powder formula, as I find premixed liquid too sweet and higher in calories !!!

While doing some online research, I’ve discovered several “IT” brands such as FINE collagen,  Meiji and Funcare. I’ve tried the Funcare Patented Collagen powder and you may read about it here. This Hello Kitty edition has additional pearl powder ingredients and vitamins for skin brightening effects. 

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Funcare Hello Kitty Collagen Powder – 28 days supply, 196 grams per can.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Variety of supplements including slimming and whitening.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Promoted on Taiwanese beauty talk shows. One of the “must have” supplement for Taiwanese models, actresses, celebs, etc,. Did not fact check on that! LOL~! :p

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Featured on magazines.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Description in Chinese. I can’t read the characters (>.<)

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Main Ingredients :  Collagen (Porcine Collagen), Coconut Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Inulin, Spices, Vitamin C, Lactic Acid Bacteria (Containing Lactobacillus Acidophilus, Bifidobacterium Longum, Lactobacillus Paracasei, Lactobacillus Rhamnosus, Lactobacillus Fermentum, Lactobacillus Helveticus, Lactococcus Lactis, Lactobacillus Salivarius), Chicken Cartilage Extract (Containing Hyaluronic Acid, Type II Collagen, Glucosamine and Chondroitin), Bacillus Natto Extract, Chitin Oligosaccharides, Xylooligosaccharide, Lotus Germ, Pearl Powder, Sucralose.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Comes with a plastic spatula.

Recommended consumption: One to two teaspoon (7 grams) per day by eating the powder directly or added to drinks. Excess consumption will not lead to additional benefits.

Precautions: Do take note that this product is non vegetarian,  not suitable for pregnant and young children, and consult your doctor if you have any food allergies before consumption.

 

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

I mix the powder with my ice coffee and it was difficult to dissolve. Wrong move. 

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder (28 days)

Hardened (>.<)

The best time to consume collagen is right before bedtime at 11p.m. as the skin cell renewal rate is higher, and our body can absorb more nutrients. I usually had the supplement in the morning or mixed it with my coffee. After some Google education, the collagen will be flushed out of my body as coffee/tea are diuretic. During daytime we tend to be more active and the collagen will be removed via sweat. Thus, it is best to consume at night – right before bedtime. I find a noticeable difference when I changed my consumption habit and not mixing it with my coffee and drinks anymore.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Adding to plain water.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Mixing the powder.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Aftermath 

Although there’s a strong vanilla scent, I dreaded the thought of consuming it directly because of the fishy taste. However, I want to get the best out of it and not waste my money. It is hard to drink at first with just plain water and I gulped it down while pinching my nose. After 1 week, the taste is tolerable and I’m able to finish the drink quickly.  (>.<)

I do experience noticeable results when drinking the collagen powder at night before going to sleep. My skin appeared supple in the morning and less oily. Sometimes I stayed up late watching Korean drama and have to wake up early for work,  my skin will look rough and dull with huge saggy pores.  With the collagen powder part of my “anti-aging maintenance”, my skin looks less rough and saggy. I’m not obsessed with instant dramatic results but so far it is working for my skin in a subtle manner. I’m looking forward to see better difference with long term consumption. 😀

[UPDATE]

So I bought this gift set and continue with my collagen intake. The seller (iqueen.my) informed me that pork collagen was sold out and if they can replace the same set with fish. I did not know they have two types as it was not written on their product description (They have it on their website now). Below are some pics of the product.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Funcare x Hello Kitty Unique Patented Formula Collagen

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Back of the box.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Nutrition facts.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Ingredients and serving suggestions.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Comes in 2 cans of 196g each and a travel pack of 35g.

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen PowderFuncare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen PowderFuncare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen PowderFuncare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

Funcare Hello Kitty Pearl Edition Collagen Powder

The previous pork collagen can was printed in Chinese language. 

Links for further reading  :

  1. http://amino-collagen.com/collagen-supplements-comparison.html
  2. http://www.dr-wellness.net/page/3/0/
  3. http://www.vedahealthandnutrition.com/blogs/news/16250333-the-benefits-of-fish-collagen
  4. http://www.renewalliance.com/blog/7-tips-for-buying-the-best-collagen-drink-beauty-supplement
  5. https://www.seasourcecollagen.com/

With my 3rd can, I have been inconsistent with my intake and did not drink the formula daily. The fish collagen is not as easy to consume as the pork collagen powder.

The pork collagen powder has more of the vanilla scent, easier to consume as the fish powder had a stronger “fishy” smell. After mixing with water, I find the taste unpleasant and still finding it hard to drink. That is main motivation to skip the daily collagen routine :p  With my inconsistency, I find that my skin condition did not get worsen. However, I did notice a slight droopy-ness at the corners of my mouth when I stopped for a week.

According to the articles from links above, collagen extracted from fish has more benefits compared to collagen extracted from pork and chicken. Also, the hydrolyzed fish collagen contains more amino acids to promote  growth of healthy tissues in skin, hair and nails. Guess I’ll have to keep consuming consistently for better results. No “pain” no gain? 😥

 

 

