[Review] Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Once upon a time when I was scrolling my Facebook feed, I saw an article about the latest beauty treatment that is crazily expensive using genuine gold. Hollywood celebrities and the super rich were into the Gold mask facials,  where one spa treatment  costs about USD 300 to USD 1,000!!!. These luxury and high end facials uses genuine 24k gold foil peels to promote rapid collagen and skin elastin synthesis. 

Other benefits of Gold Mask includes:

  • Refining pore and skin texture.
  • Reduces fine lines and wrinkles for youthful looking appearance.
  • Removes dead skin cell , sebum, black heads and white heads.
  • Leaving skin with a radiant glow,  brightens skin tone and lock in moisture.

I wanted to try it and got a really cheap gold mask from Shopee (a mobile marketplace app) for MYR13. The mask is made in Korea and the packaging looks promising 😛

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Got this peel off mask for MYR 13 + postage fee MYR7.00

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Ingredients: Water, glycerin, leaving 1.3 butanediol, active gold extract, papaya enzyme, compound vitamin, vitamin B3, Gingkgo biloba extract, rice germ amino acids, calendula extract, seaweed polysaccharides, hyaluronic acid, methyl lisothiazolinone, flavor

Description on the back of the tube:

” The precious Royal gold foil alliance of essential nutrients, vitality and energy give skin youth gentle nourishing, play from inside to outside multiple moisturizing & whitening effect, accurate keep youth to solve a variety traces of the years, brighten skin, instantly relieve skin dryness, improve dull skin, rough, dull and dry, lock in moisture, deep moisturizing, increase skin elasticity, make skin white, moist and delicate.”

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Gel mask texture

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Mask spread out

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Drying in progress. Looks like gold glitter glue.

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Mask partially dried.

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Peeling off. The small area and thin layer dried in about 5-8 minutes.

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Trying to peel the applied area but not every part are evenly dried.

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

After 5 minutes, still not completely dry.

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

Rinsed with warm water and it was difficult to remove. Have to rub pretty hard and caused redness to skin. It is more frustrating when I applied it on my face.

Korea 24k L-Glutathione Gold Mask

After 50 minutes, still not completely dry. Very time consuming and difficult to remove.

It took a very long time for the gel mask to dry and it gets frustrating as I cannot peel everything off  at the same time. When I try to remove them with warm water and a face sponge, the gel gets slippery and sticky on my skin.  If I exert more strength using the face sponge, my skin turns red and it hurts from all the rubbing.

I tried another method by applying moisturizer first after cleansing, then apply the peel off gel using a brush. Surprisingly it dries much faster and evenly after 3o minutes, but it really hurts when I peel the layers off! 

My skin turned red and I had little red bumps from the peeling. My skin tone looks brighter but I don’t think it  was worth the pain (T.T) I’m still eager to tryout other gold infused products though. Maybe next time ~! (>.<)

